T.O.W. – Week 8

I am currently in the process of my tweet assignment for week 8. Again I am a bit behind but am nevertheless enjoying by time on twitter so far. The thing I like about it is that it is different than both blogging or “facebooking”. For some reason I thought that Twitter would be somewhat more of the same in the likes of Myspace, Facebook or other social networking sites. I was pleasantly surprised that  it was not.

Considering I am behind, I am trying not to post 20 tweets in 1 day, I’m sure it has been done many times but being it that I am new to the whole idea, I will try to not crowd my page with useless information. I feel like there aren’t that many crazy things that I experience in one day that I could justifiably post on my wall. Hopefully something will happen in the next few days that will be worthy of posting.

I am enjoying the thought that it will help me make friends that I would otherwise never have known. Being as shy as I am, I enjoy the thought of making new friends this way. I strongly feel that one can never have to many people to share their ideas and thoughts with. It only makes us all better people, intellectually, socially and even in our fields of work. I can see how keeping up with twitter could even  help release stress by venting problems we deal with every day, somehow it makes us feel less alone in our troubles. I always thought writing things down or talking to someone can help relax ones’ self. Also it is important to help give others helpful advice that perhaps I may have learned through certain experiences. I can easily see how Twitter became as popular as it is and with that said, I don’t believe I will dread this assignment one bit.

2 Comments

  1. I had the same feelings as you did about Twitter. I thought that it was another social network such as Facebook or MySpace and I was pleasantly surprised that it was not. I was also behind in my tweets and I did not want to flood my “tweeps” with numerous tweets a day. I found it difficult to find topics to tweet about. Nothing interesting happened in my life to share with others and I could not think of ANYTHING PR related to tweet about.
    I like that you are open to using Twitter to release stress, tweet ideas, and recommend advice. I also like that you are open to meeting new friends on Twitter. You are right; you can never have too many friends. Despite what people think, Twitter is good for educating people. It helps you network with people you would not normally interact with and it teaches you new information from different perspectives. Twitter is also good to link up with other people who have the same interests as you and could possibly land you a job one day!

  2. […] Stu Smith’s TOW 6 Week of Twitter Comment […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

